US Soldiers of Bravo Battery, 1st Battalion, 5th Field Artillery Regiment inspect and prepare fuzes for 155 mm artillery rounds during Paladin Table VI at Orzysz Training Area, Poland, October 2025. Photo: Sgt. Eric Allen, 100th Mobile Public Affairs Detachment. US Department of Defense imagery via DVIDS, public domain. Illustrative: the fuzes shown are those issued to the unit and are not identified in the source caption as the M739A1 natures covered by this contract.
One Bid, $712 Million: The US Army Recapitalises Its Artillery Fuze Stock From a Single Bidder
The US Army awarded Action Manufacturing Company of Bristol, Pennsylvania a firm fixed price indefinite delivery, indefinite quantity contract worth up to $712,480,000 on 31 August 2026 to manufacture, inspect, test, package and deliver M739A1 point detonating and delay artillery fuzes through 31 August 2031. The requirement was advertised on SAM.gov and drew exactly one offer.
Technical Summary
Army Contracting Command at Newark, New Jersey placed contract W15QKN-26-D-A084 with Action Manufacturing Company for the M739A1 point detonating and delay fuze. The ceiling is $712,480,000, the pricing arrangement is firm fixed price with indefinite delivery and indefinite quantity, and the estimated completion date is 31 August 2031. Work locations and funding are to be determined at each order. The Department of War announcement records that bids were solicited via the internet and that one was received.
The M739 family is a selective impact fuze fitted to the nose of conventional high explosive projectiles. Manufacturer literature still describes the family as designed for 4.2 inch mortar, 105 mm through 8 inch howitzers and the 175 mm gun, but the government description is narrower and more current: Army Contracting Command records the M739A1 as the primary fuze for 105 mm and 155 mm bursting artillery projectiles. The US Army and the US Marine Corps hold it for training and tactical use; US Special Operations Command holds it for training only. Setting the fuze to superquick initiates the projectile on contact for effect against personnel and materiel in the open; setting it to delay withholds function until the projectile has penetrated, which is the setting used against troops in trenches and fighting positions and to defeat overhead cover. TM 43-0001-28 is explicit on the point: the M739 delay element is provided “for target penetration”, and on delay setting “the solid structure of the fuze body protects the delay assembly so that it will function after penetrating the target”.
The baseline M739 obtains its delay from an M1 delay plunger assembly at a nominal 0.050 seconds. The A1 replaces that assembly with an Impact Delay Module, which times on the mechanical consequences of projectile deceleration rather than on a pyrotechnic train and contains no explosive components; function occurs when a spring loaded firing pin is released onto the detonator in the safety and arming module. The solicitation description states that in the delay mode the A1 functions 3 to 6 milliseconds after passing through the target, and the Army artillery ammunition technical manual describes the module as functioning immediately after the projectile passes through the target. The A1 therefore changed the kind of delay, not only its length. The M1 plunger runs a fixed clock nominally set at 0.050 seconds for target penetration; the A1 module times on the deceleration event itself. How that behaves on entry into earth, where deceleration is sustained rather than ending at breakout, is not addressed by the descriptions available to ISC and is recorded below as a data gap. The A1 body is anodised green to distinguish it from other fuzes in the inventory for explosive ordnance disposal purposes.
| Model | Publicly documented position |
|---|---|
| M739 | Original version. Uses an approximately 50 ms pyrotechnic delay element, described in the Army technical manual as providing delay for target penetration. |
| M739A1 | Replaces that delay with a mechanical Impact Delay Module. It responds to impact and deceleration and releases its firing pin on the deceleration event rather than on a fixed clock. Its specified delay mode functioning window is approximately 3 to 6 ms, stated in the solicitation as measured from passing through the target. |
A ceiling of $712,480,000 across five years, advertised on the internet, produced exactly one offer. The competitive outcome is not the price. It is the count of bidders. ISC assessment of contract W15QKN-26-D-A084
Analysis of Effects
A point detonating fuze is a small fraction of the cost of the round it completes and the component that decides whether the round works. The Army’s own budget books put the M739A1 at $94.62 each in the FY 2014 request against $795 for an M795 projectile in FY 2021. That low unit price is not the mark of a simple part. It is the amortised output of a qualified, capital-intensive line, which is exactly why the second source slot went unfilled.
Recapitalising the point detonating stock at this scale is consistent with the wider US and allied effort to rebuild 155 mm output, because a projectile body, a propelling charge and a primer are of no use without a fuze to match them. The programmatic significance of this award is therefore less about the platform and more about the sequencing: fuzing capacity has to expand in step with metal parts and energetics, or the bottleneck simply moves.
The single offer is the finding that matters, and it is sharper than the award announcement alone suggests. The Department of War entry states only that the requirement was solicited via the internet and one bid was received. The underlying solicitation, W15QKN-25-R-0002, was advertised on SAM.gov by the Picatinny Arsenal contracting office on 15 May 2025 with offers due 14 July 2025; Amendment 0001 followed on 11 July 2025 and moved the response date to 29 July 2025. The published notice carries no set aside and does not state the statutory competition authority, so the extent to which the competition was restricted is not established by the notice itself. Solicitation documents reported at the time described an intention to award up to two five year indefinite delivery, indefinite quantity contracts with delivery orders competed between the awardees. ISC has not been able to verify that provision against the solicitation text, and records it below as a data gap rather than as an established fact.
That distinction changes the reading. Qualification of a safety and arming device is long, capital intensive and heavily governed, and the qualified production lines are few, so a short bidder list is a structural characteristic of precision electromechanical fuzing rather than evidence of a badly run competition. But the competitive mechanism the Army built into this vehicle, orders competed between two holders, does not exist on a single award.
The comparison that gives the single bid its weight is the Army’s own recent history on this exact fuze. On 28 June 2018 the service awarded parallel M739A1 indefinite delivery contracts to Action Manufacturing (W15QKN-18-D-0083) and AMTEC Corporation of Janesville, Wisconsin (W15QKN-18-D-0084), together worth $250,784,252, with the two firms competing for each order. The Department of Defense announcement for that award records that bids were solicited via the internet and three were received. On 27 June 2023 both vehicles were extended by a $246,378,925 modification, carrying the dual producer arrangement through to 27 June 2025. Two qualified M739A1 producers therefore competed for orders for seven years, and that arrangement lapsed roughly fourteen months before the present award.
Read against that record, the finding is a trend rather than a snapshot. The bidder count on the same nature of fuze has gone from three in 2018 to one in 2026, and an order level competition that existed until June 2025 does not exist now. What open source does not establish is why. ISC has found no public statement that AMTEC has exited the M739A1 line, lost qualification, or declined to bid, and the company’s corporate parent has continued to identify it as a fuze producer. The honest reading is that a second qualified base existed very recently and did not appear on this competition, not that only one has ever existed. Whether AMTEC remains qualified against the current technical data package is recorded below as a data gap.
Personnel and Safety Considerations
Fuzes shipped as components are governed by their own hazard classification rather than that of the projectile they will later be fitted to. The M739A1 carries a stab detonator in the nose assembly, a second stab detonator on the safety and arming rotor, an explosive lead and a booster; the compatibility group assigned to a packed consignment depends on how far that train is protected by the packaging, and detonating fuzes in protective packaging are not always carried in the group that covers bare primary explosive articles. A documented baseline does exist for the fuze as packed. TM 43-0001-28 records the M739 and M739A1 at quantity distance class (04) 1.2, storage compatibility group D, under UN serial number 0409 and the proper shipping name “Fuzes, detonating”, in a pack of eight fuzes to a metal container and two containers to a wire bound box. The award announcement states none of this, and the manual entry describes a packing configuration of record rather than whatever configuration this contract delivers. Storage and transport planning for the delivered stock therefore still has to be driven by the final hazard classification issued for the specific packaging, not by inference either from the projectile natures the fuze will eventually serve or from the group a bare detonator would attract. Mixing rules and quantity distance for the receiving depot follow from that classification.
One handling consequence follows from the A1 mechanism rather than from its classification, and it is the sharpest practical point in this award. TM 43-0001-28, the US Army ammunition data sheets, states it in the Limitations block of the M739 and M739A1 entry: the Impact Delay Module “is considered extremely hazardous when in a dud condition as it contains a cocked striker”, the M739 in the same condition “is not as hazardous”, and “current EOD procedures for the M739 fuze cannot be used for the M739A1 fuze”. The manual goes further than a caution: an A1 “misidentified as an M739 fuze would be deadly to any person”. Because the two marks differ externally only in stamped markings, the A1 is anodised green so that field personnel and explosive ordnance disposal operators can tell them apart on sight. That is the reason for the colour, and it is a stronger reason than the general inventory identification the solicitation describes. Units should take render safe procedure direction for the A1 from current authorised explosive ordnance disposal documentation and should never treat the two marks as interchangeable.
Data Gaps
The following remain unresolved in open source and are recorded as data gaps: the quantity of fuzes covered by the ceiling, and therefore the implied unit price; the first delivery order value and schedule; the net explosive quantity per fuze and per pack, and whether the delivered packaging configuration carries the quantity distance class and compatibility group recorded in TM 43-0001-28 or a different approved classification; whether AMTEC Corporation remains qualified to produce the M739A1 against the current technical data package, and whether it bid; whether the solicitation in fact provided for up to two awards and whether any portion was reserved for small business, neither of which appears in the published SAM.gov notice; the statutory competition authority relied on, and any resulting restriction on eligible offerors or on the source of the fuze body, safety and arming device, booster, detonators or energetic fills; whether any second source qualification effort is funded in parallel; and the reason recorded by the contracting activity for the single response to a requirement advertised as a dual award. One further gap is technical rather than commercial: how the Impact Delay Module behaves on entry into earth, where deceleration is sustained rather than ending at breakout, is not addressed by any description ISC has been able to reach. The delay window itself is not a gap, because the solicitation description states 3 to 6 milliseconds for the A1 in delay mode.
Key Questions
How much is the US Army M739A1 fuze contract worth?
The contract ceiling is $712,480,000. It is a firm fixed price, indefinite delivery and indefinite quantity award placed by Army Contracting Command at Newark, New Jersey on 31 August 2026 under reference W15QKN-26-D-A084, with an estimated completion date of 31 August 2031. Individual order values and work locations are set at each order.
What does the M739A1 fuze do?
The M739A1 is a point detonating and delay impact fuze fitted to the nose of high explosive artillery projectiles, recorded by Army Contracting Command as the primary fuze for 105 mm and 155 mm bursting natures. Set to superquick it functions on contact for effect against targets in the open. Set to delay it withholds function until the projectile has penetrated, the setting used against troops in trenches and fighting positions and to defeat overhead cover. The solicitation states a 3 to 6 millisecond window measured from passing through the target.
Why did only one company bid for the fuze contract?
The award announcement records only that the requirement was solicited via the internet and one bid was received, and gives no reason. The more useful comparison is the Army’s own record on this fuze: parallel M739A1 contracts ran with Action Manufacturing and AMTEC Corporation from June 2018, extended in June 2023 to June 2025, and the 2018 competition drew three bids. Qualification of a safety and arming device is long, capital intensive and tightly governed, which keeps the pool of qualified US production lines small. ISC records the contracting activity's own stated reason as a data gap.
References
Source-evaluated per NATO source-evaluation doctrine, STANAG 2022 lineage (source reliability A–F / information credibility 1–6). Tier 1 = government primary source; Tier 2 = quality news / specialist defence media; Tier 3 = authoritative aggregator / encyclopaedia.
- T1US Department of War – Contracts for Aug. 31, 2026, 31 August 2026. Award of W15QKN-26-D-A084 to Action Manufacturing Co., Bristol, Pennsylvania: $712,480,000 firm fixed price, indefinite delivery and indefinite quantity, estimated completion 31 August 2031, Army Contracting Command, Newark, New Jersey. The announcement states verbatim: “Bids were solicited via the internet with one received.” Bid count verified against this announcement. (Reliability A / Credibility 1)
- T2Defence Blog – U.S. Army orders $712.5 million worth of artillery fuzes, September 2026. (Reliability B / Credibility 2)
- T1US Army Contracting Command New Jersey – Solicitation W15QKN25R0002, M739A1 Point Detonating/Delay (PD/DLY) Fuze, SAM.gov notice W15QKN25R0002, released 15 May 2025 with offers due 14 July 2025; Amendment 0001 released 11 July 2025 moving the response date to 29 July 2025; last updated 11 July 2026, accessed 2 September 2026. The notice records no set aside and does not state the competition authority. Source of the 3 to 6 millisecond delay figure, the 105 mm and 155 mm scope, the service usage split and the green anodise identification. (Reliability A / Credibility 1)
- T2Action Manufacturing Company – M739/M739A1 PD Fuze product description, accessed 2 September 2026. Manufacturer description of the five modular subassemblies, the M1 delay plunger baseline and the Impact Delay Module. (Reliability B / Credibility 2)
- T1US Department of Defense – Contracts for Jun. 28, 2018, 28 June 2018. Parallel M739A1 awards to Action Manufacturing (W15QKN-18-D-0083) and AMTEC Corporation (W15QKN-18-D-0084), $250,784,252, orders competed between the two holders. The announcement states verbatim: “Bids were solicited via the Internet with three received.” That three bid figure belongs to this 2018 competition and not to the 2026 award at reference 1. Wording verified against the announcement text. (Reliability A / Credibility 1)
- T1US Department of Defense – Contracts for Jun. 27, 2023, 27 June 2023. $246,378,925 modification extending both M739A1 vehicles (P00012 and P00013) to an estimated completion of 27 June 2025, placed by Army Contracting Command, Newark, New Jersey, under which both firms “will compete for each order”. The modification announcement records no bid count. (Reliability A / Credibility 1)
- T1Department of the Army – Exhibit P-40 / P-5, Line Item 8750E27501, Artillery Propellants, Fuzes and Primers, All Types, FY 2014 President’s Budget, February 2013. Item E62208, ARTY, FUZE PD M739A1 (N340): unit cost $94.62, quantity 94,813, total $8.971 million. Source of the fuze unit cost. The same exhibit carries item E99250, Precision Guidance Kit, at $13,303.55 each, which is why unit cost is stated for the M739A1 specifically and not for fuzes as a class. (Reliability A / Credibility 1)
- T1Assistant Secretary of the Army (Financial Management and Comptroller) – FY 2021 Procurement of Ammunition, Army justification book, February 2020. Line Item 3102E89500, item E66800, PROJ, ARTY, 155MM HE, M795: $145.569 million for 183,085 rounds, an implied gross budget average of $795 per projectile. This is programme procurement funding divided by quantity, not a quoted contractual unit price, and the numerator carries multiple cost elements. Note the seven-year gap from the fuze figure: the comparison is an order of magnitude, not a like-for-like ratio. (Reliability A / Credibility 1)
- T1Assistant Secretary of the Army (Financial Management and Comptroller) – FY 2026 Procurement of Ammunition, Army justification book, 2025. (Reliability A / Credibility 1)
- T1US Department of the Army – TM 43-0001-28, Army Ammunition Data Sheets for Artillery Ammunition, Change 11, 27 October 2003, entry “Fuze, Point Detonating: M739 and M739A1”, pages 7-87 to 7-89. Source of the delay being provided for target penetration; of the Impact Delay Module functioning immediately after the projectile passes through the target; of quantity distance class (04) 1.2, storage compatibility group D, UN 0409 and the packing configuration; of the explosive train and the Composition A5 booster pellet; and of the Limitations block on the cocked striker, the dud hazard and the render safe procedure warning. Note the entry states the booster pellet as 21 g in tabulated data and 22 g in the descriptive text. Read directly by ISC. (Reliability A / Credibility 1)
- T3BulletPicker ordnance reference – PD, M739 and M739A1, accessed 2 September 2026. Secondary reproduction of the technical manual entry at reference 11, consulted first and then superseded by the manual itself. (Reliability C / Credibility 3)
Editorial responsibility. This analysis is researched, written and published under the editorial responsibility of Steve Sawyers, MIExpE VR. Every technical claim is sourced to named open-source material and rated for source reliability and information credibility on the NATO STANAG 2022 lineage. ISC uses its own domain-trained research and drafting system under human direction; the analysis, the judgements and the accountability for them are ours. Corrections and updates welcome: if you hold open-source data that refines or corrects any parameter here, write to [email protected] citing the specific claim and your source. Verified corrections are incorporated and noted on the page. Full editorial and AI policy.