US Army Lifts Precision Strike Missile Production Ceiling to $13.3 Billion in $8.4bn Lockheed Modification

A Precision Strike Missile is fired from a U.S. Army M270A2 at White Sands Missile Range, New Mexico. U.S. Army photo by Christopher Bohn / DVIDS (public domain).

US Army Lifts Precision Strike Missile Production Ceiling to $13.3 Billion in $8.4bn Lockheed Modification

Technical Summary

On 23 June 2026 the United States Army awarded Lockheed Martin Corporation a $8,402,489,648 modification (P00007) to contract W31P4Q-25-D-0010, raising the ceiling and extending the ordering period for the Precision Strike Missile (PrSM) Increment 1. The action carries the cumulative face value of the contract to $13,339,535,048 and funds increased production capacity, Early Operational Capability (EOC) assets, follow-on production, development and obsolescence management through fiscal year 2032. Army Contracting Command at Redstone Arsenal, Alabama is the contracting activity; work is performed at Grand Prairie, Texas, and other locations determined per delivery order.

PrSM Increment 1 is a surface-to-surface guided missile fired from the wheeled M142 High Mobility Artillery Rocket System (HIMARS) and the tracked M270A2 Multiple Launch Rocket System (MLRS). The missile’s body diameter of approximately 430 mm and length of approximately 4 m compare directly to the 610 mm diameter of the MGM-140 Army Tactical Missile System (ATACMS) it replaces; mass of the all-up round is approximately 816 kg. The reduced diameter allows two rounds per launch pod rather than one, doubling the ready missile load per launcher: a single HIMARS carries two ready PrSM against one ATACMS, and a tracked M270A2 carries four PrSM against two ATACMS. The baseline round pairs a solid-propellant rocket motor with an inertial navigation system (INS) aided by Global Positioning System (GPS) guidance and a unitary blast-fragmentation warhead reported at approximately 91 kg.

The table below summarises the key performance and physical parameters of PrSM Increment 1 against the ATACMS it replaces.

Parameter PrSM Increment 1 MGM-140 ATACMS
Body diameter ~430 mm ~610 mm
Length ~4 m (13 ft) ~3.98 m (13 ft)
All-up-round mass ~816 kg (1,800 lb) ~1,670 kg (3,680 lb) Block IVA
Range (Increment 1) >400 km (>250 mi) ~300 km (186 mi) max
Warhead Unitary blast-fragmentation ~91 kg Unitary ~227 kg (Block IVA) or submunitions (earlier blocks)
Rounds per HIMARS pod 2 1
Rounds per M270A2 (2 pods) 4 2
Guidance INS + GPS, sub-metre accuracy (open architecture) INS + GPS (Block IVA)
Platform compatibility HIMARS, M270A2 (NATO standard launch containers) HIMARS, M270

“The modification carries the Precision Strike Missile Increment 1 contract to a $13.3 billion cumulative ceiling, the financial expression of a March 2026 framework intended to quadruple annual output.”

— ISC open-source assessment, 24 June 2026

Analysis of Effects

The modification is the contractual realisation of a framework agreement announced on 25 March 2026 under which Lockheed Martin and the Department of War committed to quadruple PrSM output. Where the original award sat near $4.94 billion, the new $13.3 billion ceiling provides the contract headroom to sustain that ramp through fiscal year 2032 without re-competition. The build-up rests on tooling, facility modernisation and test equipment investment rather than a new missile design, so the energetic fill and warhead configuration of the round remain those of the qualified Increment 1 baseline. Published industry statements reference scaling toward an annual production rate on the order of 550 missiles per year as the ramp reaches full capacity, though the split of the $8.4 billion between tooling, EOC assets and follow-on production lots is not disclosed in the contract notice.

For the munition itself, the operationally relevant figures are range and magazine depth. Increment 1 holds a published range in excess of 400 km against fixed targets in all-weather, day and night conditions, bounded by the 500 km class limit of the former Intermediate-Range Nuclear Forces (INF) Treaty. Doubling the per-pod load means a single HIMARS carries two ready PrSM rather than one ATACMS, and a tracked M270A2 carries four. The combination of longer reach and deeper magazines is the capability the production ceiling is designed to scale.

Allied fielding of PrSM Increment 1 reinforces the significance of the production ramp. Australia has already received and operates PrSM Increment 1 rounds on HIMARS launchers, and further Foreign Military Sales (FMS) demand from NATO partners fielding compatible launchers is anticipated once US Army priority inventory requirements are met. The open systems architecture was designed from the outset to accommodate multi-decade upgrades (seeker, warhead and range enhancements in later increments) without requiring a fundamental redesign, positioning the missile family to remain the primary long-range precision fires capability well into the 2040s and beyond.

Personnel and Safety Considerations

PrSM is a solid rocket motor munition, so the dominant bulk-handling hazards are those of a mass-detonating store in storage and transport, alongside the electro-explosive initiation risks common to guided missiles. The specific Hazard Division (HD) and Compatibility Group (CG) for the all-up round in its container are not stated in the open contract notice and are recorded here as a data gap. A production scale-up of this magnitude raises throughput at load, assemble and pack lines and at proof and acceptance ranges, where net explosive quantity (NEQ) limits, quantity-distance separation and electro-magnetic radiation hazard (HERO/EMCON) controls govern facility licensing under the applicable explosives safety regime.

Data Gaps

  • Hazard Division and Compatibility Group of the packaged all-up round (not disclosed in open sources)
  • Net explosive quantity (NEQ) of the warhead and rocket motor
  • Confirmed annual unit production rate at full ramp (industry statements reference ~550 per year; not contractually confirmed in open sources)
  • Allocation of the $8.4 billion between EOC assets, follow-on production lots and obsolescence management
  • Delivery schedule against the fiscal year 2032 completion date
  • Warhead mass (~91 kg) and sub-500 km range are drawn from secondary technical reporting rather than the contract notice and are not independently confirmed

ISC Commentary

The headline figure is the ceiling, not a cash outlay. A $13.3 billion cumulative face value is contracting headroom that lets the Army place orders against a quadrupled line without returning to competition each year. That structure matters more than any single number, because it signals confidence that demand for long-range precision fires is durable rather than a wartime spike.

PrSM Increment 1 has already been expended in combat, which removes the usual doubt about whether a programme will reach volume. The constraint now sits in the industrial base: solid rocket motor capacity, seeker and guidance electronics, and the specialised energetics supply chain. Money alone does not buy throughput on those lines, and the framework’s emphasis on tooling and test equipment is the more telling detail.

For NATO partners fielding HIMARS and M270, the read-across is availability. A deeper US production base improves the prospect of FMS and co-production of a missile that doubles launcher magazine depth. Australia has already fielded the round; European demand will track US Army priority for its own inventory rebuild first. The interoperability case is strong, but allied access timelines are a function of production rate, not political will.

The production investment also enables the capability spiral that follows Increment 1. Increment 2 adds a multi-mode seeker optimised for maritime strike and moving target engagement; later work extends range into a class well beyond 500 km. These spirals are already in development and share the Increment 1 airframe and launch container, so the tooling and facility investments funded by this modification directly underwrite the next two generations of the weapon. The open systems architecture means the missiles coming off the Increment 1 line in 2030 will accept software and seeker upgrades that keep them operationally relevant to 2050 and beyond, a capability lifespan that justifies the scale of the industrial investment.

References — Source Evaluation (NATO STANAG 2022)

  1. T1 U.S. Department of War – Contracts for June 23, 2026, 23 June 2026. (Reliability A / Accuracy 1)
  2. T2 DefenseScoop – DOD inks agreement with Lockheed Martin aimed at accelerating Precision Strike Missile production, 25 March 2026. (Reliability B / Accuracy 2)
  3. T2 Lockheed Martin – Lockheed Martin Answers the Nation’s Call and Quadruples Precision Strike Missile Production, 25 March 2026. (Reliability B / Accuracy 2)
  4. T2 The Defense Post – Precision Strike Missile (PrSM): A New Era in Long-Range Fires, 6 March 2026. (Reliability B / Accuracy 2)
  5. T3 Wikipedia – Precision Strike Missile, accessed 24 June 2026. (Reliability C / Accuracy 3)